Teacher salary in Malaysia
- New government teacher: RM2,360 basic a month at grade DG9 with a degree and a teaching diploma; RM2,580 with a Bachelor of Education (Hons).
- Higher qualifications start higher: RM3,130 with a master's degree and RM3,460 with a doctorate, each with a teaching diploma.
- Pay scale: grade 9 runs from RM2,250 to RM11,110, rising RM225 a year.
- Allowances: teachers receive fixed public-service allowances, but no notice we hold states the 2026 amounts for DG9, so they are not shown.
- Private schools: no official figure exists. The DOSM median for the whole education industry was RM5,721 in 2024.
What a new government teacher earns
Starting basic pay at DG9 runs from RM2,360 with a degree and teaching diploma to RM3,460 with a doctorate.
Pegawai Perkhidmatan Pendidikan grade DG9, from the SPA service scheme, 2026. Basic salary only.
| Qualification | Route | Starting basic, RM |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's degree plus Diploma or Postgraduate Diploma in Education | Most common route for school teachers | 2,360 |
| Bachelor of Education (Hons) | Education degree route | 2,580 |
| Honours degree plus Diploma or Postgraduate Diploma in Education | Honours route | 2,580 |
| Master's degree plus teaching diploma | Postgraduate route | 3,130 |
| Doctorate plus teaching diploma | Postgraduate route | 3,460 |
Source: Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Awam, service scheme for Pegawai Perkhidmatan Pendidikan Gred DG9. Each route also requires a credit in Bahasa Melayu at SPM level.
- Allowances not shown: government teachers receive housing and cost-of-living allowances like other officers, but the 2026 amounts for DG9 are not stated in any official notice we hold. We do not estimate them.
- A year at the start: RM2,360 × 12 = RM28,320 basic, before allowances.
- 2026 intake: the Ministry of Education opened applications in March 2026 for 20,000 DG9 teachers on contract of service, with teacher training at IPG during the contract.
How pay grows on the government scale
Grade 9 pay rises RM225 a year, from RM2,360 at the start up to RM11,110. Promotion to DG10 and above moves a teacher onto a higher range.
Minimum and maximum monthly basic salary for each SSPA grade, 2026.
| Grade | Who | Minimum | Maximum | Yearly increment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 | Teacher DG9, entry with a degree | 2,250 | 11,110 | 225 |
| 10 | First promotion grade | 3,840 | 12,150 | 250 |
| 12 | Senior grade | 5,530 | 13,540 | 270 |
| 13 | Senior grade | 6,210 | 14,370 | 290 |
| 14 | Senior grade | 6,560 | 15,360 | 320 |
Source: Ministry of Finance, Budget 2026 establishment list, Lampiran A: SSPA salary codes and minimum-maximum salaries (page A-1). Basic salary only.
- Increments only: at RM225 a year, a teacher starting at RM2,360 would need about 39 yearly increments to reach RM11,110.
- Promotion grades: DG10 starts at RM3,840 and DG12 to DG14 at RM5,530 to RM6,560. Senior and excellent teacher posts sit on these grades.
- Not every grade applies to every post. Which teaching posts sit at each grade is set in the education service scheme.
Compared with Malaysian pay overall
A new teacher's RM2,360 basic is below the national median of RM2,940, but the figure excludes allowances. The DOSM median for the whole education industry is RM5,721.
| Figure | Source | RM a month |
|---|---|---|
| New government teacher, DG9 basic only | SPA service scheme, 2026 | 2,360 |
| Median salary, education industry, all jobs | DOSM, 2024 | 5,721 |
| Median salary, all Malaysian citizens | DOSM, 2025 | 2,940 |
| Median salary, employed degree holders of all ages | DOSM, 2024 | 5,724 |
| Median salary, all professionals | DOSM, 2024 | 5,821 |
| Mean salary, skilled workers | DOSM, 2025 | 5,799 |
- Education industry median covers lecturers, school staff and administrators in public and private institutions, most of them experienced.
- Measures differ: DOSM figures cover all paid employees and all ages. The government figure is one fixed pay point. Use them for scale, not as a direct comparison.
Private and international schools
There is no official figure for teacher pay in private or international schools.
- DOSM publishes salaries by state, sector and skill level, but not by job title. Its education industry median, RM5,721, is the closest official figure.
- The pay scale above applies to government posts only. Private and international schools set their own pay.
- Private surveys and job ads use different measures and samples, so their figures are not mixed into the tables here.
Data sources and coverage
The SPA service scheme and the SSPA pay scale give exact starting pay and ranges for government teachers. Allowances and private school pay have no official source we can cite.
| Source | What it gives | Strength |
|---|---|---|
| SPA service scheme, DG9 | Starting basic pay by qualification | Strong: official and current |
| Budget 2026, SSPA pay scale | Minimum, maximum and yearly increment for every grade | Strong: official and current |
| Teacher allowances, 2026 | Not stated in any official notice we hold | Missing |
| DOSM Salaries & Wages Survey 2024 and 2025 | Education industry median; national and skill-level pay | Weak for teachers: no job-title figure |
| Private school pay | Nothing official | None |
- Compared with Singapore: Singapore's MOM publishes median pay by job title, age and industry. Malaysia publishes exact government pay scales but no market-wide figure by job.
- What a payslip shows is basic plus allowances plus any shift, on-call or overtime pay, so it can be higher than the fixed figures here.
Is teaching affected by AI?
The International Labour Organization rates secondary education teachers Not exposed for exposure to generative AI. Its scores cover the job worldwide, so they apply in Malaysia too.
- Average task score 0.30 out of 1, across 11 main tasks.
- Most exposed task: Designing and modifying curricula and preparing educational courses of study in accordance with curriculum guidelines (0.47).
- Least exposed task: Establishing and enforcing rules for behaviour and procedures for maintaining order among students (0.23).
- What exposure measures: how much of the work AI could do or speed up. It does not measure job cuts.
What the pay figures include
Every figure is monthly basic pay or fixed allowances, before deductions.
| Measure | Includes | Excludes |
|---|---|---|
| Basic salary | Gaji pokok on the SSPA scale | Allowances, shift, on-call and overtime pay, special payments |
| Fixed allowances | ITP, BISH, ITKA or ITK, and BIPK as advertised for the post | Shift, on-call and overtime pay |
| DOSM salary | Monthly salaries and wages of paid employees | Self-employed and unpaid family workers |
Related guides
Sources
SPA service scheme, Ministry of Finance Budget 2026, DOSM, Ministry of Education
- Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Awam, Syarat Permohonan: Pegawai Perkhidmatan Pendidikan Gred DG9. Starting pay by qualification.
- Ministry of Finance, Budget 2026 establishment list, Lampiran A. SSPA salary codes and minimum-maximum salaries, page A-1.
- DOSM, Salaries & Wages Survey Report 2024, Exhibits 3 and 5, and Salaries & Wages Statistics 2025.
- RTM, Permohonan pengambilan 20,000 guru DG9 dibuka pada Mac, on the 2026 contract-of-service intake.